Transition Into Tech

Transition Into Tech

My Journey Into Tech

Transitioning into tech doesn't just mean switching from your normal job role to a job role in tech at once. Oxford dictionary explains transition as the process or period of changing from one state or condition to another.

The transition takes time, it takes processes and procedures and it requires much effort and willingness to achieve. It's not just about the change but the process. Whatever you do in life, take note of the process, it matters a lot.

What Is Tech

Technology, shortly called tech, is simply referred to the application of scientific knowledge for practical purposes, especially in industry.

Why Transition?

I am that lady that loves doing masculine work. Works that are too feminine don't resonate much with me. and that's why I ended up studying Electrical Electronics Engineering, a course that is majorly studied by men. I like exploring new things and never like being tied down in one place. Switching to tech will give me more opportunities to explore and innovate.

Journey So Far

I started my tech journey by taking up an internship program in product management. After the internship, I Co-founded a startup which was birthed during the boot camp of the internship. Being the Cofounder and the product manager of our startup has given me more opportunities to learn and lead multiple things/Initiatives and to diversify and grow fast just like what Yewande Odumosu said in her Video

The Roadmap

According to ProductPlan, A roadmap is a strategic plan that defines a goal or desired outcome and includes the major steps or milestones needed to reach it.

Before setting up a roadmap, you must first have a goal, an aimless roadmap will lead to nothing. Following the above definition, and getting more insight from what Yewande Odumosu said, I will take my tech career journey in a non-linear format to keep discovering myself until I arrive at my destination.

Screenshot_2022-09-15-03-12-06-99.jpg

Researching further to know the necessary skills a product manager needs to scale through, I discovered that apart from soft skills, a product manager needs the following hard skills: technical, Business, UX, Analytical, and QA/QC skills, as highlighted by Alex Rechevskly and Liam Bolling.

Putting these discoveries into consideration, I've set up my career goal and the roadmap to achieving it.

Benefits Of Setting A Roadmap For Your Personal And Career Growth

• It keeps you reorganized and focused

• Helps you be on track and to avoid some distractions

• Roadmap helps you achieve S.M.A.R.T. milestones

You see, roadmap cuts across all works of life. It doesn't matter what you do. What is your goal and vision in life, career, business, etc? Setting a Roadmap will help you achieve it fast and easily.

Reference

Designing A Tech Career Roadmap