Road Mapping In Product Management

Road Mapping In Product Management

Once more, I'm here to drop the report on how I'm going to build my product roadmap, highlighting the prioritization framework I'll be using and why I chose that.

Before I move further, let me explain what the product roadmap means.

A product roadmap is a clear and detailed plan on how a product manager intends to build a product or feature and the strategy involved in developing it.

Here is how I'll build my product roadmap:

To build my product roadmap, I'll, first of all, define my product goal. Why I want to build that product and ascertain if what I'm building is an MVP or revamp of an existing product or release of a new feature. I'll ensure I keep my roadmap clear and concise.

Next is to map out my user stories. Creating user stories will help me set a clear roadmap. Also, I move on to determine my product features and prioritize the features appropriately.

Next is to categorize the tasks into epics. Breaking down the epic stories into smaller user stories to achieve each task within a timeline.

The next thing I'll do is to create a visionary board that will be accessible to all stakeholders so that everyone involved will be able to track the progress of the product development. This is where the kanban board comes into play.

The final thing is to always review my product roadmap and make changes where necessary because I'm using Agile Methodology.

I mentioned prioritization earlier, so let me explain deeper what it entails.

Prioritization in this context simply means setting my product feature releases in order of priority.

There are laydown frameworks used to set priorities and here are some of them;

• Cost of delay (CoD) framework

• Kano model framework

• Moscow ( Must-have, Should-have, Could-have and Will not have at this time)

• Product tree

• RICE ( Reach, Impact, Confidence, and Effort)

• User story mapping

• Value vs Effort

• Weighted Shortest job first.

Having researched how these frameworks work, as a starter, I think I'll be using the RICE framework to build my product roadmap.

R = Reach: Stands for how many customers the feature will benefit

I = Impact: Measures the impact of the product or feature on customers or the business, such as an increase in sales or customer sentiment

C = Confidence: Proposes value to the consumer

E = Effort: Involves the resources needed to complete the feature or product.

My reason for preferring this framework is that the RICE framework balances both value and effort, but there's always room to change to another framework, that's why it's agile and alive.

THANKS!

REFERENCE

How to craft product roadmap